Car Seat Safety

The best way to keep your child safe in the car is to use the right car seat in the right way. 

Get customized information for your child at

General tips for car seat safety:

  1. Buying the right car seat. Your baby needs to ride in a rear-facing car seat as long as possible until 2 or more years. When your child has outgrown that seat, you are ready for a forward-facing car seat. Get more details about buying the right car seat for your child.
  2. Installing your car seat. You’ll need to decide on using either the seat belt or lower anchors to secure your car seat. Both are safe, but don’t use them both at the same time. Once your child is forward facing, it is important to use the tether with the seat belt or lower anchors. Get more details about installing your car seat.
  3. Getting the right fit. A properly-fitted harness gives the best possible protection for your child. Here are more details about getting the right fit for your child.
  4. When to change your car seat. Look on the car seat label to make sure your child is still within the weight, height and age limits for that seat. Get details about when to change your car seat.

To be sure that the car seat is properly installed, contact a Permanent Fitting Station to schedule an appointment. *Some permanent fitting stations may have free or low-cost car seats available to those who qualify.  Eligibility and appointment are required.

The following changes have been made and put into effect as of November 1, 2019:

  • $20 administrative fee will be charged for each car seat distributed (cash and check encouraged, credit cards accepted but will charge a processing fee)
  • Program is open to all residents of Milwaukee County
  • Appointments are required for car seat installation and car seat distribution

Families can call either the Greenfield Fire Department or Health Department to schedule an appointment:

Greenfield Health Department Abby Gorecki or Lisa Schalk

Greenfield Fire Department Battalion Chief Dan Weber

All Counties

  • Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin Booster and Car Seat Clinic
    Contact: Central Scheduling 414-231-4894
  • For all locations throughout Milwaukee County, visit Safe Kids Wisconsin

Car Seat Guidelines


Type of Seat

Wisconsin State Law

Best Practice

Infant seats and rear facing

Required until the child is 1 year and 20 lbs.

Children should be rear-facing for as long as possible.  Check with car seat height and weight requirements to make sure the seat is appropriate. 

Toddlers/ Preschoolers

Convertible seats

Child is required to stay in harness until both 4 years and 40 lbs.

Remain in a harness seat (past 4 years and 40 lbs) that accommodates child’s height and weight.

School-age children

Booster Seats

Booster seats are for older children who have outgrown their forward facing care safety seats. Children should stay in a booster seat until adult belts fit correctly (usually when a child reaches about 4’9” in height and between 8 to 12 years of age).

Child remains in booster until they are either 4’9” or they can do the 5 step test: 1. Sit all the way back 2. Bend knees 3. Lap belt sits properly over hips 4. Shoulder belt across chest and middle of shoulder 5. Ride in the same position for the duration of the trip.

Older children

Seat belts

A child can move out of a booster seat into a seat belt when they have reached 8 years, 80 lbs, or 4’9”. .

Child remains in back seat until the age of 13 and can pass the 5 step test.